Picklist Management Overview
This is an Administrative function rather than a standard lab operation. Only users with LIMS Administrator or equivalent profile have this on their menu and may access it.
"Picklists" are the drop-down lists of choices that display on various screens. Many of these sets of choices are editable by you. Those that you can edit are listed in the relevant Picklist Management menu item.
NOTE: There are several picklist management menu items, designed to serve different areas of the LIMS. If the drop-down picklist you want to edit is not listed, you are not looking at the correct picklist management screen. Your LabLynx support representative or trainer can help you if you cannot find the picklist management list screen that applies to the picklist you want to edit.
One of the Picklist Management list screens
To View or Edit Picklists
Navigate to the Picklist Management menu item related to the area of the LIMS where the picklist occurs (see note above). Select the picklist whose choices you wish to edit by clicking on its Picklist Name.
The selected Picklist Detail Screen displays.
To edit any of the choices in the Picklist, simply click on its name.
The picklist selection may be removed or renamed, or you may simply click in the top line to write in a new selection for that list. If there are additional attributes, the picklist item detail screen displays, where it may be edited. This will vary depending on what kind of picklist and items are involved.
For instance, this Entity Type picklist contains possible selections that have additional attributes (this example is from a medical lab using LabLynx):
Picklist Item Detail Screen
Each type of picklist is edited differently, as stated earlier. Pretty much all of them involve naming a choice and making it active (checkbox) and saving each new item. There will always be a New, and Remove or Delete option, along with a Save function.
Any picklist choices not made Active will not display in the drop-down list of choices. They may easily be made to display again by saving them as Active, so it is not necessary to delete any previously-defined choices.